New Delhi, ANI. From May 11 to May 14, the 18th Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) India Zone Zone-III will be held in Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh, in which Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla and Rajya Sabha Deputy Speaker Harivansh Narayan Singh will participate.

The CPA India region comprises a total of 31 legislatures from Assam in the east to Gujarat in the west. After the Africa region, India has the largest number of member branches of the CPA. The Executive Committee of the CPA India Region consists of the Regional President of CPA India and six members. Lok Sabha Om Birla is its current regional president.

CPA in India is divided into four sectors

Administratively, the CPA India region is divided into 4 zones – Zone-1: Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Jharkhand, Orissa, Uttar Pradesh, Uttaranchal, West Bengal (8 branches), Zone-2: Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Puducherry (UT), Tamil Nadu, Telangana (8 branches), Zone-3: Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura (8 branches) and Zone-4: Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Rajasthan (7 branches).

What is Commonwealth Parliamentary Association?

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA), formerly known as the Empire Parliamentary Association, is an organization that works to support good governance, democracy and human rights.

The CPA was founded in 1911 as the Empire Parliamentary Association (EPA) and the United Kingdom branch administered its affairs. Evolving with the Commonwealth, the CPA adopted its current name in 1948 and changed its rules to enable all member branches to participate in the association’s management and established a separate secretariat, known as the Commonwealth Secretariat. which manages and performs its affairs. Its headquarter is located in London.

The Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly is a member of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association. The Andhra Pradesh branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association was formed in the year 1968.

Edited By: Babli Kumari