23 years ago the trophy was lost in Ranji: Opportunity to make history for MP team, know from Bhopal players how they lost

- Advertisement -

Madhya Pradesh cricket team is in the final of Ranji Trophy after 23 years. On Wednesday i.e. today he is competing with the Mumbai team that won the final for the most number of times. Earlier, the team of Madhya Pradesh reached the final in 1998-99, but at the last moment the victory turned into defeat. From the very beginning, the team of Madhya Pradesh was overwhelming Karnataka. The team was in a strong position till tea on the last day, but Karnataka off-spinner Vijay Bhardwaj turned the match in a few minutes. The players of the MP team could not stand in front of his spin.

The dream of winning the trophy for the first time was also shattered by Vijay bowling 15 overs and getting 6 players for 24 runs in the final for the first time. The main players of this team JP Yadav, Rajesh Chauhan and Narendra Hirmani later also played for the India team. Bhopal’s JP Yadav, an all-round international cricketer who took 3 wickets in the first innings, and Sanjay Pandey of Bhopal, who was part of the team, shared those moments of the match with the daily.

Karnataka won the toss and decided to bat first. The team did not start well, but Vijay Bhardwaj remained at one end. Playing an innings of 86 runs off 145 balls, he took the score beyond 300. Team got out after scoring 304 runs in 95.2 overs. For MP, Harvinder Sodhi dismissed 5 Karnataka players for 78 runs in 27 overs.

In response, MP got off to a strong start. Santosh Sahu played a good innings of 130 runs. He faced 165 balls for this. Due to which MP scored 379 runs and took a 75-run lead in the first innings. Karnataka made a slow start in the second innings. J Arunkumar scored 147 runs in 250 balls. In reply, Karnataka declared the second innings at 321 for 7 wickets.

There were initial setbacks on the third day, but the team was in a strong position till lunch on the last day. Madhya Pradesh needed 247 runs till the last day to win on a first innings lead. 130 runs for 4 wickets at tea time. Vijay dismissed captain Chandrakant Pandit in the first over after tea and Raja Ali in the first ball of his next over.

Harvinder Sodhi lasted for five overs in this spell, but eventually returned to the pavilion after being dismissed for zero. Finally, after 80 overs, Sunil Joshi dismissed Abbas Ali in the second over with the new ball and Bharadwaj took the last two wickets in the same over to break MP’s dream of winning the Ranji Trophy.

Team MP playing against Mumbai

Credit: www.bhaskar.com /

- Advertisement -
Mail Us For  DMCA / Credit  Notice

Recent Articles

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Related Stories