New Delhi, Pretr. Amidst objections from Congress, Trinamool and BJD MPs, the Joint Parliamentary Committee probing the Personal Data Protection Bill-2019 has accepted the report related to the bill. About two years ago, the Bill was referred to a Joint Parliamentary Committee for scrutiny and its corresponding recommendations.

Sources said that four Congress MPs, two Trinamool Congress MPs and one Biju Janata Dal (BJD) MP have objected to some of the recommendations of the committee. Congress leader and party’s whip chief in Rajya Sabha Jairam Ramesh lodged his dissent after the committee accepted the report in the meeting.

Questions raised on the functioning of the committee

The former Union Minister also raised questions on the functioning of the committee under the chairmanship of Chairman PP Choudhary during the last four months. Congress MPs Manish Tewari, Gaurav Gogoi and Vivek Tankha, Trinamool’s Derek O’Brien and Mahua Moitra and BJD’s Amar Patnaik also expressed dissent. The committee’s report has been delayed in the process of making the chairman of the committee Meenakshi Lekhi a minister in the central government and the appointment of Chaudhary in her place.

Best spirit of parliamentary democracy: Jairam Ramesh

Ramesh tweeted, ‘Finally it is done.. There were some disagreements, but that is the best spirit of parliamentary democracy. It is sad that such examples have become very less during PM Modi’s tenure. Ramesh said he was compelled to file a disagreement as his proposals were not accepted. He could not convince the committee. He had proposed amendments to Article 35 and 12 of the Bill. Tewari said, “I have expressed dissent in detail because I do not agree with the very nature of the bill. It will not stand the test of law.

Edited By: Dhyanendra Singh Chauhan