New Delhi [जागरण स्‍पेशल]। Along with the Bharat Jodo Yatra, the Congress is also on an election journey to elect its new president. The notification for the election is to be issued by the party on 22 September. Amidst speculations of a contest between Ashok Gehlot and Shashi Tharoor, let us understand what is the entire process of election for the post of President in this 137 year old party…

  • Voting will take place on October 17 if more than one candidate nominates for the post of president. The name of the new chairman will be announced on 19 October.
  • Nominations can be made from 24 to 30 September. Nominations can be withdrawn by October 8.

Five faces who will handle the election process

The Central Election Authority (CEA), the party which is responsible for conducting the election for the post of president in the Congress, has five members who belong to different states. The CEA is headed by senior Congressman Madhusudan Mistry who originally hails from the political circles of Gujarat. While teaching geography, he became an expert in political science and became an active companion of Shankar Singh Vaghela in Gujarat. Mistry, 77, was identified as a trade union leader. Other members of the CEA are Arvinder Singh Lovely from Delhi, Jotimani Sennimalai from Tamil Nadu, Krishna Byre Gowda from Karnataka and veteran Congressman Rajesh Mishra from Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh. Mistry will be the returning officer.

9,000 members of PCC will vote in this way

Voting rights will be given to 9,000 Congressmen across the country. These are called Congress delegates or representatives who are members of various Pradesh Congress Committees (PCCs). These members are selected from the block committees of the Congress and sent to the PCC.

  • To become a candidate, the support of at least 10 Congress delegates is required. Seven days time is given to withdraw the name.
  • In the event of voting, the votes will be cast in the State Congress offices of all the states. The name of the new president will be announced after the votes of all delegates are counted.

this is the schedule

It is worth mentioning that the notification for the election of the Congress President will be issued on September 22. The process of filing its forms will run from September 24 to 30. According to Congress sources, the Central Election Authority headed by senior party leader Madhusudan Mistry will issue a notification for the election of the President. The last date for withdrawal of nominations is October 8. Polling will be held on October 17 while the results will be declared on October 19.

Edited By: Krishna Bihari Singh