New Delhi, Online Desk. The draw for the Hockey World Cup 2023 to be held in Odisha has been decided. The Indian team has been placed in Pool D along with three European teams, England, Spain and Wales. India is the best ranked team in the group but despite being the host, it will not be easy for them to make it to the quarter final match. Talking about the big tournament, England has a bigger edge against India.

The two teams recently met at the Commonwealth Games where the match ended in a 4-4 draw, with the hosts scoring two goals in the last few minutes.

Spain, which is ranked number 8 in the world ranking, has also played good hockey in recent times. The team has performed well under the leadership of former Netherlands coach Max Kaldas. Talking about Wales, Wales seems to be the weakest team in this group.

Australia, Argentina, France and South Africa are in Pool A. World and Olympic champions Belgium, European powerhouse Germany, South Korea and Asian Games winners Japan are in Pool B, while World No. 3 Netherlands will take on New Zealand, Malaysia and Chile in Pool C.

Hockey World Cup Pool:

Pool A: Australia, Argentina, France, South Africa

Pool B: Belgium, Germany, Korea, Japan

Pool C: Netherlands, New Zealand, Malaysia, Chile

Pool D: India, England, Spain, Wales.

The full schedule of the World Cup will be released soon.

Edited By: Sameer Thakur