IND Vs NZ Test: Gautam Gambhir’s big statement on Ajinkya Rahane; Said- ‘Luck is there that the place remains in the Test team’

Mail Us For Business inquiry
- Advertisement -

After the T20I series between India and New Zealand, now a two-match Test series will be played between the two teams. The first match of the series is to be played in Kanpur (Kanpur Test) from November 25. Ajinkya Rahane will lead Team India in the first Test in the absence of Virat Kohli, the regular captain of the Indian Test team. Meanwhile, former Indian opener and cricket expert Gautam Gambhir raised questions on Rahane’s presence in the Test team. On Star Sports’ show ‘Game Plan’, the former cricketer said that Rahane is very lucky that he has been given a chance in the upcoming Test series against New Zealand.

Gautam Gambhir said that Rahane has retained his place despite poor form only because he has to lead the team in the absence of Virat Kohli. Let us tell you that in the Test series held in England this year, Mumbai batsmen were seen struggling, after which they were attacked from cricket experts to fans.

Please tell that Virat Kohli is on a break from international cricket and will not play the first Test in Kanpur. He will return to the team as captain in the second Test to be held in Mumbai on December 3. Captain Rohit Sharma, who led India to a 3-0 series win in the T20I series, has also been rested for the upcoming Test series.

Gautam Gambhir’s comment came while choosing India’s batting order for the first Test on Star Sports’ show ‘Game Plan’. He picked Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul as the openers, and placed Shubham Gill at No.

Rahane going through poor form

Ajinkya Rahane has scored 644 runs in his last 15 Tests at an average of 24.76. The 33-year-old’s struggle is particularly difficult to understand as both spinners and fast bowlers have troubled him alike.

Also read – Ind Vs NZ Test Series: Team India players announced for the Test series, Ajinkya Rahane will take over the captaincy

India Test squad: Ajinkya Rahane (C), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (VC), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Siraj, the famous Krishna.


- Advertisement -
Mail Us For  DMCA / Credit  Notice

Recent Articles

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Related Stories