New Delhi, Online Desk. The second team to play in the final of the 14th season of the Indian Premier League has been decided. Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Delhi Capitals to reach the finals with a thumping victory in a one-sided match. Batting first, Delhi scored 135 for 5 in 20 overs in the second qualifier on Wednesday. In response, Kolkata team achieved the target in the over and ensured a clash with Chennai Super Kings in the final.

In the 14th season of IPL, Delhi’s team, which topped the table by showing a strong game in league matches, had a disappointing end. In the second qualifier, the team lost against Kolkata and their dream of winning the title was shattered. In the first qualifier, the team was defeated in the last over against Chennai. Here the team had to face a one-sided defeat due to poor batting.

Kolkata registered a one-sided victory

The Delhi team could only score 135 runs in 20 overs due to poor performance of the batsmen. Shikhar Dhawan scored 36 runs while Shreyas Iyer scored 30 runs. Captain Rishabh Pant could only manage 6 runs while Prithvi Shaw was dismissed after scoring 18 runs. For Kolkata, Shubman Gill and Venkesh Iyer added 96 runs for the first wicket. Iyer was dismissed for 55 while Gill was dismissed for 46.

Delhi’s dream broken

Delhi, who lost to Mumbai Indians in the final last season, had to be content with being runners-up. In this season, the team had achieved 20 points by winning 10 matches in the points table, showing a strong game. Chennai in the first qualifier and Kolkata in the second qualifier broke the dream of winning the title. Earlier in 2019, the team had to be knocked out in the second qualifier at the hands of Chennai.

Edited By: Viplove Kumar