IPL: Not Dhoni-Rohit, Gautam Gambhir is the best captain? Ruckus among fans on Twitter

SportsCricketIPL: Not Dhoni-Rohit, Gautam Gambhir is the best captain? Ruckus among...
- Advertisement -

IPL 2023: Just waiting for a few more days, the biggest festival of cricket will start again. Yes, we are talking about the world’s most popular T20 league IPL. Ahead of the mega event starting on March 31, debate is going on among fans on social media about who is the best captain of IPL. Some are taking the name of MS Dhoni and some of Rohit Sharma. Now both these captains have made their team champions many times, but there is one name about which people have different opinions.

- Advertisement -

Some fans on Twitter are calling former Indian opener Gautam Gambhir the best captain in IPL history. If the fans are to be believed, Gambhir took many such big decisions during his captaincy which has benefited his team.

Who is the best captain of IPL?

The first two years of the IPL were nothing special for Gautam Gambhir. Gambhir had two bad seasons with the Delhi Daredevils in 2009 and 2010. Then in 2011, Kolkata Knight Riders placed bets on him and everything changed after that. Under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir, KKR managed to reach the playoffs of IPL. In 2012, despite being one of the weakest teams, KKR surprised everyone by winning the title. Gambhir also excelled with the bat and scored 590 runs in that season.

- Advertisement -

However, the following season saw KKR struggle and finished 7th on the table. After 4 consecutive defeats in 2014, Gautam Gambhir’s team made a spectacular comeback and won 9 matches to make it to the finals. After this, the best team of that season created a sensation by defeating Kings XI Punjab. During this, Gautam Gambhir’s captaincy was highly praised.

Shaheen Afridi: Pakistani bowler furious after eating three sixes, fans made fun of him

IPL career of Gautam Gambhir

- Advertisement -

Meanwhile, Gambhir is one of the highest run-scorers in IPL history with 4217 runs in 154 matches. He is currently the top run-getter in the tournament’s history at 11th position, above players like Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane and KL Rahul. Among Indian cricketers, only Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni, Robin Uthappa and Dinesh Karthik have scored more runs than him.

- Advertisement -

Recent Articles

Related Stories