New Delhi, Agencies. The BJP on Sunday announced candidates for the bypolls to be held in Kerala and Odisha. The BJP has fielded Radharani Panda from the Brajrajnagar seat in Odisha, while AN Radhakrishnan has been fielded from the Trikkakara seat in Kerala. BJP National General Secretary Arun Singh said that the Central Election Committee of the BJP has approved these names for the upcoming by-elections to the Odisha and Kerala Legislative Assembly.

According to the report of news agency IANS, voting for both the by-elections will be held on May 31 while counting of votes will be done on June 3. The by-election for the Champawat assembly constituency of Uttarakhand will also be held on May 31 but the counting of votes will take place on June 3. BJP has fielded Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami from Champawat. The BJP has created history in Uttarakhand by becoming the only party to retain power for the second consecutive time since its formation.

The BJP secured a second term in Uttarakhand by winning 47 out of 70 seats but lost the election from Dhami Khatima. At the same time, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced that it will not contest the by-polls to the Trikkakara seat in Kerala to be held on May 31. Party’s state convener PC Siriac told a press conference in Kochi on Sunday that the party will not contest the bypolls as winning one seat is not going to change anything.

PC Syriac, who is the retired Chief Secretary of Tamil Nadu… said that the party will contest all 140 seats in the next assembly elections and come to power in the state by implementing public-friendly projects. He told that the National Committee of the party has taken this decision in New Delhi. AAP’s policy is that it will not contest bypolls in states where the party does not have power. Aam Aadmi Party will contest all the seats in the next Lok Sabha elections.

Edited By: Krishna Bihari Singh