Navi Mumbai, Pretr. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) will have to look for the quickest combination if they want to keep their bleak hopes alive in the IPL as they take on Mumbai Indians, who will go into this match with a boost of morale despite being ranked last.

Trying many combinations in the top order and making frequent changes in the team has been a problem for KKR this season. She will enter this match after suffering a crushing 75-run defeat to table-toppers Lucknow Supergiants. On the other hand, Mumbai, who have been out of the race for the playoffs, will take the field with a boost of morale due to a five-run victory over second number team Gujarat Titans.

KKR, led by new captain Shreyas Iyer, suffered a massive defeat against Lucknow on Saturday. He has eight points from 11 matches. She can reach a maximum of 14 points in the remaining three matches, but even that does not guarantee her fourth place. Despite the adversity, both the teams will try to give a tough fight to each other at the DY Patil Stadium here. Both the teams will now be eyeing a positive end to their campaign.

In the matches played between these two teams so far, Mumbai has won 22 matches and KKR has won eight matches. Mumbai will try to make this record even better. The good thing for Mumbai is that both their openers, captain Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan, got the team off to a good start against the Titans. Against KKR, they will try to convert their good start into big scores. Rohit is also 88 runs away from completing 5000 runs in IPL for Mumbai and he can reach this milestone on Monday.

While Mumbai batsmen Rohit, Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav are adept at using the powerplay well, KKR are struggling to score runs in the first six overs which their head coach Brendon McCullum blames for the defeat. McCullum said, “We have struggled in the powerplay which has been disappointing for us this entire season. We did well in the middle overs throughout the tournament and didn’t play badly in the last overs as well.

Teams :

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Aaron Finch, Abhijit Tomar, Ajinkya Rahane, Baba Inderjit, Nitish Rana, Pratham Singh, Rinku Singh, Ashok Sharma, Pat Cummins, Rasikh Dar, Shivam Mavi, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Varun Chakraborty , Aman Khan, Andre Russell, Anukul Roy, Chamika Karunaratne, Muhammad Nabi, Ramesh Kumar, Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Sam Billings, Sheldon Jackson.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Anmolpreet Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Ramandeep Singh, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Verma, Tim David, Arjun Tendulkar, Basil Thampi, Hrithik Shokeen, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Murugan Ashwin, Riley Meredith , Tymal Mills, Karthikeya Singh, Daniel Sams, Dewald Brevis, Fabian Allen, Kieron Pollard, Sanjay Yadav, Aryan Juyal and Ishan Kishan.

Edited By: Sanjay Savern