Modi cabinet’s decision: 15 castes of 5 states included in Scheduled Tribes; UP’s Ravidas Nagar also renamed

- Advertisement -

In the meeting of the Union Cabinet on Wednesday, a big decision was taken regarding castes like Gond-Bharia. The cabinet approved the proposal to include about 15 tribal communities in the Scheduled Tribes in 5 states namely Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Uttar Pradesh. Union Minister Arjun Munda gave this information.

After this decision, the number of Scheduled Tribes in the country has increased from 705 to 720. According to the 2011 census, the ST population in the country is 10.43 crore, which is 8.6% of the total population of the country.

During the meeting, the name of Ravidas Nagar in UP has been changed to Bhadohi. 5 sub-castes of Gond caste, Dhuria, Nayak, Ojha, Pathari, Rajgond have also been included in the Scheduled Tribes.

Munda said – tribes will benefit
Union Minister Arjun Munda told the media after the approval that this decision will benefit about 1.60 lakh people of Hatti community settled in the Trans-Giri area of ​​Sirmaur, Himachal Pradesh. Brijiya community in Chhattisgarh and Narikuravar, one of the most deprived and vulnerable communities living in the hills of Tamil Nadu will also be benefitted.

Who are Hatti and where do they live?
The Hatti are the community living in North India, who make their living by selling crops, vegetables, meat and wool in the small town markets i.e. Haat. The birthplace of the Hatti community is mainly spread up to the Himachal-Uttarakhand border in the basin of the Giri and Tons, both tributaries of the Yamuna.

Castes that were included in the Scheduled Tribes

Chhattisgarh Bhuiya, Bhuya, Pando, Dhanuhar, Gadba, Gond, Kondh, Korku, Nagesia, Dhangad, Saunra, Binjhiya
Himachal Hatti
Tamil Nadu Kuruvikkaran
Karnataka betta kuruba

Uttar Pradesh

Gond, sub-caste – Dhuria, Nayak, Ojha, Pathari, Rajgond

Bill could not be passed in Rajya Sabha
The government had introduced a bill related to the issue in the Lok Sabha in March. In which the proposal to give Scheduled Tribe status to Gond, Dhuria, Nayak, Ojha Pathari and Rajgond castes of Uttar Pradesh was passed by voice vote. However, then this bill could not be passed in the Rajya Sabha. In such a situation, it was decided to pass it in the Union Cabinet.

Credit: /

- Advertisement -

Recent Articles

Related Stories