MP boys’ power in Ranji final: Mumbai was reduced to 374, in response, Madhya Pradesh scored 123 runs for the loss of 1 wicket

- Advertisement -

After 23 years in the final of the Ranji Trophy, the Madhya Pradesh cricket team all-out Mumbai for 374 runs on the second day of the game on Thursday. Sarfaraz scored 134 runs for Mumbai. In reply, Madhya Pradesh started well. Himanshu and Yash added 47 runs for the first wicket. Himanshu got out after scoring 31 runs. By the end of the second day’s play, Madhya Pradesh are in a good position at 123 for 1 wicket.

Earlier, the Mumbai team was seen kneeling in front of Bhopal’s Anubhav Agarwal 3 wickets and Hoshangabad’s Gaurav Yadav 4 wicket fast bowling. Barring 134 runs from Mumbai batsman Sarfaraz, none of the batsmen could stay longer at the crease. At the end of the second day’s play, Yash Dubey (44 *) and Shubham Sharma (41 *) remained unbeaten on runs.

Mumbai started playing ahead of 248 for 5 on the second day of the match on Thursday. Sarfaraz Khan and SZ Mulani, the unbeaten batsmen of the first day, opened the innings. Mulani became a victim of pride on the very second ball of the match. Could not understand the ball coming inside from off-stump at Gaurav’s fast pace. The ball hit his pad directly. The umpire gave him out without delay.

Sarfaraz was busy scoring runs from one side, while the fall of wickets continued from the other side. After 40 runs, Mumbai got the 7th blow in the form of Tanush Kotian on the score of 288 runs. He was bowled by Gaurav. Gaurav took the second wicket of the day. The wicket fell on Mumbai’s score of 288 runs. Sarfaraz completed the century and took Mumbai past 350 runs.

Anubhav made Dhawan Kulkarni the third victim of the innings. Dhawan could score only one run. Gaurav gave the 9th blow to Mumbai by dismissing Tushar. Sarfaraz’s brilliant innings of 134 runs ended with Gaurav taking the fourth wicket. Gaurav got Sarfaraz out caught by captain Aditya. With this, Mumbai’s first innings was bundled out for 374 runs. For Madhya Pradesh, Gaurav Yadav of Hoshangabad took 4 wickets, Anubhav Agarwal 3 and Sarshan Jain 2 and Kumar Karthikeya took 1 wicket. In response, Yash Dubey and Himanshu Minister started the innings for Madhya Pradesh.

Both gave a good start for the first wicket, but Himanshu Tushar Deshpande got the first blow to Madhya Pradesh for 47 runs. Himanshu scored 31 runs off 50 balls. Himanshu hit 3 fours and 2 sixes in his innings.

Captain Prithvi Shaw, along with Yashasvi Jaiswal, added 87 runs for the first wicket for Mumbai on the first day. Prithvi scored 47 runs. Armaan became the victim of Karthikeya for 26 runs. By the end of the day’s play, Mumbai had scored 248 runs in 90 overs for the loss of 5 wickets. Armaan Jaffer (26), Suved Parkar (18) and Hardik Tamore (24) played short innings for the team.

Credit: /

- Advertisement -
Mail Us For  DMCA / Credit  Notice

Recent Articles

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Related Stories