New President of AIFF elected! Former India goalkeeper Kalyan Choubey left behind Bhaichung Bhutia

- Advertisement -

Kalyan Choubey has been elected as the new President of the All India Football Federation (AIFF) in the elections held on Friday. According to reports, the former India goalkeeper has become the new president after defeating Bhaichung Bhutia by a huge margin of 33-1. The elections were held after the AIFF was banned back by FIFA due to third party interference. Choubey’s first job will now be to oversee the Under-17 Women’s Football World Cup to be held in India.

On Tuesday, PTI had reported that 45-year-old Kalyan Choubey was left at the forefront of the top post with the support of politically important state associations such as Gujarat and Arunachal Pradesh. The report further said that Choubey is considered the “blessing” of one of the most influential political stalwarts of the North East with an active interest in Indian sports.

Who is Kalyan Choubey?

Choubey is a graduate of Tata Football Academy who played football for 15 years. He was a five-time runner-up in the I-League/National Football League and went on to play for the Indian football team from 1999–2006. Kalyan Choubey won the SAFF Championship twice (1999 and 2005) as well as won a bronze medal at the 1999 South Asian Games. His stint in Indian club football saw him representing both Mohun Bagan and East Bengal during his playing days.

In addition to playing for two prestigious domestic football clubs, Choubey went to Germany to test for Bundesliga clubs such as Karlsruhe SC, and VfR Heilbronn. After retiring from the game, he served in several football associations and also contested the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Krishnanagar constituency, where he lost to Mohua Moitra of TMC.

Choubey has represented the Indian team in the Under-17 Asian Youth Championship held in Tehran Iran 1994, the Under-20 Asian Youth Championship held in Suwon/Seoul South Korea in 1996, the Pre-Olympic qualification 1999–00 and the senior Indian national team in 1999–2006. is represented.

After the deadline for withdrawal of nominations ended at 1 pm on Tuesday, Returning Officer Umesh Sinha released the final list of candidates for each post for the elections. The electoral college consisting of 34 representatives of state unions has been issued by the Returning Officer.

Also read- One word tweet trended on Twitter, know how it started

Credit: /

- Advertisement -

Recent Articles

Related Stories