New Delhi, Jagran Bureau. Opposition parties have announced to field former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha as their joint candidate in the presidential election. Almost all parties in the opposition camp, including Congress, Trinamool Congress, SP, CPI(M)-CPI and NCP to DMK, in their meeting held on Tuesday, unanimously decided to field former BJP leader Sinha as the opposition’s presidential candidate. Through this decision, the opposition parties have tried to give the first message of a political fight against the BJP-NDA with their solidarity and common strategy on the future political path. Yashwant Sinha will file his nomination as the opposition’s presidential candidate on June 27.

After declaring Yashwant Sinha as the presidential candidate, the opposition parties also played their political gambit by appealing to the BJP to support him, but it is clear from the current political reality that there is a face-off between the ruling party and the opposition for the presidential election. There will be an electoral contest and the NDA clearly has the upper hand in terms of the equation of votes.

Opposition parties unanimously decided to field Yashwant Sinha

15 opposition parties met at the parliamentary annexe on the initiative of NCP leader Sharad Pawar, 15 opposition parties met at the parliamentary annexe to decide on the presidential candidate and it did not take long for these parties to agree on the name of Yashwant Sinha. Congress’ communications and media general secretary Jairam Ramesh announced to reporters after the meeting that the opposition parties have unanimously decided to field Yashwant Sinha for the presidential election to be held on July 18.

No leader from Shiv Sena attended the meeting

Leaders of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge, Jairam Ramesh and Randeep Surjewala attended the meeting under the patronage of Pawar. At the same time, party general secretary Abhishek Banerjee from Trinamool, Ram Gopal Yadav of SP, Sitaram Yechury of CPI(M), D. Raja of CPI, Trichy Shiva of DMK etc. participated. Due to the political crisis in Maharashtra, no Shiv Sena leader could attend the meeting, while the Aam Aadmi Party, TRS, Akali Dal, BJD and YSR Congress, apart from both the NDA and UPA camps, distanced themselves from the meeting.

Edited By: Dhyanendra Singh Chauhan