New Delhi, [जागरण स्पेशल], NDA and opposition have announced the names of the candidates for the presidential election. NDA has nominated Draupadi Murmu as its presidential candidate. She has been the former Governor of Jharkhand. Along with this, on Tuesday, the opposition has declared former Union Minister and TMC leader Yashwant Sinha as the Presidential candidate. After the names of the candidates came from both the sides, once again the discussions have intensified regarding the process of presidential election in the country. Let us know how Presidential elections are held in the country and what is its complete process.

MLAs, Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha members vote in the presidential election

A total of 4,809 MPs and MLAs will vote in the election. Of these, there will be 776 MPs (elected members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha) and 4,033 MLAs.

The value of votes of MPs and MLAs is different. Priority is decided by the voter for several candidates in a single vote.

– The value of the total vote of the MPs is 5,43,200, the value of one vote is 700

The value of the vote of a Member of Parliament is determined by dividing the value of the votes of all the MLAs by the total number of MPs.

– The value of total votes of MLAs is 5,43,231

– 208 is the value of vote of an MLA of Uttar Pradesh, which is the highest among the states

– 7 is the value of vote of an MLA of Sikkim, this is the lowest vote value

this is the equation

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has 5,26,420 votes, a little less than fifty percent of the total 10.86 lakh votes.

In such a situation, the NDA will have to take the support of any party. In which YSR Congress and Biju Janata Dal are there.

In the past, YSR Congress chief Jaganmohan and BJD chief Naveen Patnaik have met PM Narendra Modi in Delhi.

Both the parties had supported the NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind in the year 2017.

NDA is short of about 13,000 votes to win the presidential election. BJD has more than 31 thousand votes while YSR Congress has more than 43,000 votes. Naturally, the support of any one of these will suffice for the NDA.

opposition position

The Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) has around 2,59,800 votes. In this, the Congress has the maximum number of 1,45,000 votes.

Talking about non-UPA opposition parties, they have about 2,92,800 votes. In such a situation, the opposition parties combined have more than 5,52,000 votes.

Due to the recently held Rajya Sabha elections, there may be a slight change in the number of votes of the parties, but it will not be enough to affect the election on a large scale.

Edited By: Dhyanendra Singh Chauhan