Agartala, Agency. Voting is being held on Thursday for over 200 seats in Tripura’s municipal bodies. The Tripura State Election Commission (SEC) had announced elections to 20 urban local bodies, including the Agartala Municipal Corporation, in all eight districts of the state. According to the State Election Commission, 770 polling stations have been set up across the state for the municipal elections. Voters will decide the fate of 785 candidates. Polling is being held in Tripura amid tight security arrangements.


The eyes of 785 candidates are on the polling for 222 seats. Voting is underway at a polling booth in Ward No 20 of Agartala.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) earlier this month won 112 of the total 334 seats in the Agartala Municipal Corporation and 19 urban local bodies unopposed. Voting for the remaining 222 seats is to be held on Thursday. Counting of votes will take place on November 28.

There are total 334 seats in 20 urban local bodies which include six Nagar Panchayats, 13 Nagar Parishads and one Municipal Corporation.

Tripura SEC ML Dey said, “The date of polling for municipal bodies in the state is November 25, voting is to be held from 7 am to 4 pm. The counting of votes will take place on November 28, which will begin at 8 am. “The entire election process will end on December 4,” he said. This will be the first civic election for the BJP after coming to power in Tripura in 2018.

Edited By: Nitin Arora