Women’s T20 World Cup: Shefali eyes on getting India the World Cup title

SportsCricketWomen's T20 World Cup: Shefali eyes on getting India the World Cup...
- Advertisement -

Explosive batsman Shafali Verma will look to lead India to a historic victory against England in the inaugural ICC Under-19 T20 World Cup final here on Sunday.

- Advertisement -

The Indian women’s cricket team has achieved considerable success at the international level but the team has not been able to win a World Cup trophy at any level and Shefali, who has been part of the finals of two World Cups and one Commonwealth Games with the senior team, was unable to win the Under-19 World Cup. Would like to return home after winning the trophy.

The senior team has reached the final of the World Cup on three occasions but has not been able to cross the final hurdle. India lost to Australia by 98 runs in 2005, England by nine runs in 2017 and Australia by 85 runs in the 2020 final.

- Advertisement -

The youngster from Rohtak was part of the silver medal winning team at last year’s Birmingham Commonwealth Games apart from two World Cups. And now she doesn’t want to let this opportunity slip out of her hands.

On the eve of the final, Shefali, who turned 19 on Saturday, said, “Yes, there have been many finals. It is important to go out on the field and enjoy your game. I have also told fellow players that don’t take tension, just give your 100 per cent, don’t think that it is the final. Just trust yourself. ,

- Advertisement -

He said, “All this is a thing of the past which cannot be changed. We are determined to win the World Cup this time and are trying to improve each day. ,

India had to face defeat against Australia in the Super Six League stage. “We had our nervous moments as well and couldn’t sleep whether we would make it to the final or not. But we learned from our mistakes and reached here. ,

Shefali said, “Now we are very confident and know our role very well. Everyone is comfortable and not thinking much. ,

In the semi-finals, India registered an eight-wicket win against New Zealand in which their bowlers restricted the opposition to 107 for nine.

Leg-spinner Parshvi Chopra took three wickets for 20 runs while Shefali gave away just four runs and took one wicket in her four overs.

Shweta Sehrawat’s unbeaten 61 helped India reach the target in 14.2 overs.

Shefali recalled her father Sanjeev Verma’s words, “He would always tell me that I am the best and will win the World Cup one day. He always encouraged me to move forward. I am here because of the sacrifices made by him and my family. ,

India will face formidable England, who topped the Super Six group after winning all four matches.

Due to poor batting against Australia in the semi-finals, England were reduced to 99 runs in 19.5 overs but due to excellent bowling, Australia were bundled out for 96 runs and made it to the final.

In this, her leg-spinner Hannah Bakers took three wickets for 10 runs in four overs while performing brilliantly. Captain Grace Scrivens took two wickets for eight runs in 3.4 overs.

The teams are as follows-

India: Shefali Verma, Shweta Sahrawat, Gongdi Trisha, Soumya Tiwari, Sonia Mehdia, Richa Ghosh, Rishita Basu, Titas Sadhu, Mannat Kashyap, Parshvi Chopra, Sonam Yadav, Shabnam, Falak Naz and Yashshree Sopdhandhi. England:

Grace Scrivens, Ellie Anderson, Hannah Baker, Josie Groves, Liberty Heap, Niamh Holland, Rayanna MacDonald-Gaye, Emma Marlowe, Charis Pawley, Davina Perrin, Lizzie Scott, Serene Smale, Sophia Smale, Alexa Stonehouse and Maddie Ward.

The match will start at 5.15 pm Indian time.

- Advertisement -

Recent Articles

Related Stories